Music Evolution

The past six months and the absolute chaos my life has been has changed my music taste to say the least.

I’ve kept some of the favs, Paramore being one of them. Seeing that band live 3 times, including their biggest headlining show in Sydney was a religious experience. Seeing Thick Skull live was next level. I got to go and see them with some of my favourite people. I will be making a seperate post based on the most hectic 2 weeks of my life soon becuase HOLY SHIT was it intense but SO worth it.

Okay onto the new girlies.

This all started in October, Halloween specifically (which will also be mentioned in said post above) when my good friend Emily showed me the absolute ICON that is Ashnikko. Since then I have started a (secret) cross stitch project based on her for a friend. The end of my December, all I listened to.
My go to is still Weedkiller, with You Make Me Sick being my fav from the album. The sheer rage oozing out of that song really scratches something deep in my brain that I didn’t know needed it. Is it BPD? Is it my inner teenager? We will never know.

Another incredible queer artist that I was introduced to at a similar time was Ethel Cain. Her album Preacher’s Daughter is an absolute masterpiece. Have I played it over my work speakers multiple times? Absolutely. I love the southern gothic vibes that come from her aesthetic and it has personally inspired me to branch out in my own fashion style (I’m trying my hardest to get back into making outfits I love and am proud of as my job sucked the life and fun out of dressing in a creative way). The song Ptolemaea is haunting yet so beautiful, but I think her song Gibson Girl and Family Tree (Specifically the intro) really hit for me. The constant call backs to religion really scratch the religious trauma itch.

Another amazing queer artist (yet again) has been Kiki Rockwell. Spotify recommended her album Rituals On The Bank Of A Familiar River was recommended to me after listeing to Phildel’s album The Disappearence of the Girl (Which has been one of my favourite albums for the past 10 years). Rockwell’s album is so incredibly haunting and is such a good album to drive around to at night, especially around this time of year. Her song Harbinger has such a perfect amount of feminine rage in it while also being “pretty”. This and From Persephone are both on repeat for me at the moment

Remi Wolf was the INCREDIBLE opener for Paramore when I saw them at the end of last year and has turned into a staple in my little household. Her remix of Paramore’s You First is somehow so different, yet so similar at the same time. She just knows how to make hit after hit and needs to be more popluar ASAP. The album Juno has been the on repeat of the past 2 months and is in just about every playlist I’ve made in the new year. Quiet On Set and Liquor Store are the two songs that are played when my friend Dex and I open in the morning and so don’t want to be at work.

The Outliers, yet they’re on repeat.

Yucky Blucky Fruitcake – Doechii
I’ve been listeneing to Doechii for the past few years now (thanks for introducing me Scar <3) and this song, I have no idea what she put in this song but I can’t stop listening to it lately. Walking to work while listening to this just puts me in such a good mood

Girl With One Eye - Florence + The Machine
THE ELDEST DAUGHTER ANGER IN THIS SONG IS REAL. According to Last FM. I’ve listened to it 51 times in the past 2 weeks and honestly I’m surprised that it’s not more. I want so badly to make a lyra routine to it. The drop in the middle of this song would be SO PERFECT FOR A ROUTINE (iykyk).

The Summoning – Sleep Token
This one is all because of Scar. She’s OBSESSED with Baldur’s gate at the moment (I’m talking currently doing an honors run, finished the game with 4 seperate playthroughs, has over 350 hours in game kind of obsessed) and I love her for it. She discovered Sleep token RIGHT before the big Astarion edit on tiktok and showed me this as soon as it got popular and I NEED MORE OF THIS. Give me more sexy heavy music like this. Like this song feels like some of the fantasy books I read and I need MORE PLEASE I’M BEGGING.

Knock ‘Em Out – Lily Allen
Now this is out of left field. It’s another amazing song to make sure I’m not going to hate life at work and this along with Doechii will get me in a way better mood for work. Ask everyone I work with, they’re so fucking sick of my on repeat playlist at the moment.

Cobra (Rock Remix) [Ft. Spiritbox] – Megan Thee Stallion
This masterpiece of a remix was shown to me on a late night shift with Emily at the end of last year and has been a staple in not only my playlists, but every other person I can possibly influence. It needs no more commentary just listen and you’ll understand.

I hope y’all found some new artist to listen to!

Love ya, byeeee ❤

Leave a comment