Oddly Specific Crocheting: Hooty, But Make Him A Crocheted Monster

Stuck in iso I have been watching some new shows and one of the best I’ve seen so far is The Owl House. It’s an animated Disney Channel show that I have fallen in love with. So far there is only 1 season out and I’m eagerly waiting for more content. The one problem with new shows is that there isn’t any merch out. Soooooo my solution to this? Spend hours patterning and creating my favourite boy Hooty! Totally logical right?! I also saw that many people have taken up crocheting over 2020 and as I am an avid crocheter myself I thought I would create a pattern for anyone to try.
All of this was just me messing around, finding what looks good and hopefully writing it down in the process. This is my first pattern so let me know how it goes. ALSO IF YOU DO MAKE IT SEND ME A PHOTO OR TAG ME ON INSTA I WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT!!
I also ended up making a playlist while I was making my very own hooty so if you want to see the shit I watched/listened to while making the body here you go! I added most of the videos I watched and you will notice very quickly that I fall down holes for like 3 hours so full warning there. (I also re- watched The Owl House multiple times while making the face and Once Upon A Time while half way through the body Thanks Disney+!!!)

The piece as a whole isn’t too difficult, BUT I would advise that you know all the general terms/stitches. I am going to be using US terms for this pattern as that is what I know best. The pattern is also made in 3ish parts, The body, the head and the butt. ALSO none of these links are affiliate, this is all just a bit of fun 🙂

These are the pics I ended up working off of:

Hooty
hooty_stretching_out_at_the_owl_house_by_deaf_machbot_ddrw0m4-fullview

Here is my hooty for anyone who doesnt want to make him! I am really proud of him not gonna lie.

How to make your own house demon!

What ya’ll will need:
– 4mm crochet hook, I got mine from Littlecosythings
– Stitch markers, if you’re cheap like me you can use things like safety pins, bobby pins or just tie some different coloured yarn. USE THESE IN THE FIRST STITCH OF ANYTHING WORKED IN A ROUND. It will make your life so much easier trust me.
– Scissors
– Yarn needle
Stuffing  , I had 200g at home and bought an extra 500g

YARN COLOURS:
For this I mainly used colours I had in my stash, but I will put a link to the colours I used so you can match your own.
Natural: 2 balls
Pumpkin: 1 ball or less
Hawthorn: (think Kit-Kat brown) 9 balls
Black: 1 ball or less
White: 1 ball or less
Chocolate: (think dark chocolate), 1 ball or less (not the same yarn as the one I used BUT is the same colour)

GAUGE:
10 by 10 square in Sc with a 4mm hook: 6.5cm by 6.5cm 

HOOTY’S FACE
This is made in several parts and will be stuffed separately to the body. For this you will also need to know how to work in a round (think circle)

STITCHES AND ABBREVIATIONS:
– MR: Magic Ring
– * *: Repeat instructions in between _ times
– CH: Chain
– Slst: Slip Stitch
– SC: Single Crochet
– HDC: Half Double Crochet
– DC: Double Crochet
– FLO HDC: Front Loop Only Half Double Crochet
– SK: Skip stitch
– Working in a round: Basically you work in a circle instead of a straight line
– Working in a row: work in a straight line instead of a circle

HOOTY’S FACE BASE:
This section is worked in a round and will be used later in the pattern. Make sure to put a stitch marker in the first stitch of the round. You will be able to make a great circle after all of this trust me.

USING NATURAL COLOUR YARN:

Round 1: MR, 10 HDC into Magic ring, Pull Magic ring closed tight, Slst into first HDC. (10 HDC)

Round 2: CH 2, 2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 2 HDC in each stitch, Slst into first stitch. (20 HDC)

Round 3: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH 1 HDC in next stitch* repeat to the end of the round, Slst into first HDC. (30 HDC)

Round 4: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC in next 2 stitches* repeat to the end of the round, Slst into first HDC (40 HDC)

Round 5: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 3 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (50 HDC)

Round 6: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 4 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (60 HDC)

Round 7: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 5 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (70 HDC)

Round 8: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 6 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (80 HDC)

Round 9: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 7 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (90 HDC)

Round 10: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 8 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (100 HDC)

Round 11: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 9 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (110 HDC)

Round 12: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 10 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (120 HDC)

Round 13: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 11 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (130 HDC)

Round 14: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 12 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (140 HDC)

Round 15: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 13 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (150 HDC)

Round 16: CH 2, 1 FLO HDC in each stitch in the round, Slst into first stitch. This will create a lip. (150 FLO HDC)

Round 17: CH 2, HDC in each stitch in the round, Slst into first stitch (150 HDC)

Round 18: CH 2, HDC in each stitch in the round, Slst into first stitch, fasten off.

HOOTY’S EYES:
MAKE 2 of these because our cursed child has 2 eyes.

USING CHOCOLATE COLOUR YARN:

Round 1: MR, 10 HDC into Magic Ring, pull ring tight, Slst into first HDC (10 HDC)

Round 2: CH 2, 2 HDC into EACH STITCH, Slst into first stitch (20 HDC)

Round 3: CH 2, *2 HDC  into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next stitch* repeat to the end of the round, Slst into first stitch, fasten off. (30 HDC)

HOOTY’S EYES PART 2:
MAKE 2 of these because our boy has to see us to be able to annoy the crap out of us.

USING WHITE YARN:

Round 1: MR, 5 HDC into the Magic Ring, pull Magic Ring tight, Slst into first stitch (5 HDC)

Round 2: CH 2, 2 HDC into EACH STITCH, slst into first stitch, fasten off (10 HDC)

HOOTY’S BEAK (TOP HALF):
This will end up looking a bit goofy and will be uneven. If yours looks like that then good job! You did it!

USING PUMPKIN YARN:

Round 1: MR, 7 SC into Magic Ring, pull Magic Ring closed tight, Slst into first stitch (7 SC)

Round 2: CH 2, 2 HDC in next 3 stitches, 2 DC in next 3 stitches, SK 1 stitch, Slst in next stitch, fasten off.

HOOTY’S BEAK (BOTTOM HALF):
This will be worked in a row NOT a round

USING PUMPKIN YARN:
Row 1: CH 13

Row 2: SC second chain from the hook, 1 SC in each chain (12 SC)

Row 3: CH 1, SC in first SC, *SK 1 SC, SC* repeat to the end of row, Fasten off.

LITTLE LINE THINGS FROM EYE TO BEAK:
I don’t know what else to call them I dont’ know what to tell ya. MAKE 2

USING BLACK YARN:

Row 1: CH 8, fasten off

HOOTY’S WIDOWS PEAK:
If these look like bikini bottoms by the last row then you’re on the right track. This is worked in a row not a round.

USING PUMPKIN YARN:

Row 1: CH 2

Row 2: 2 SC in second chain from hook (2 SC)

Row 3: CH 1, 2 SC in each stitch (4 SC)

Row 4: CH 1, 2 SC in same stitch, 2 SC in next 2 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch (6 SC)

Row 5: CH 1, 2 SC in same stitch, 4 SC in next 4 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch (6 SC)

Row 6: CH 1, 2 SC in same stitch, 6 SC in next 6 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch (10 SC)

Row 7: CH 1, 2 SC in same stitch, 8 SC in next 8 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch (12 SC)

Row 8: CH 1, 2 SC in same stitch, 10 SC in next 10 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch (14 SC)

Row 9: CH 1,2 SC in same stitch, 12 SC in next 12 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch (16 SC)

Row 10: CH 1, 2 SC in same stitch, 14 SC in next 14 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch (18 SC)

Row 11: CH 1, 2 SC in same stitch, 16 SC in next 16 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch (20 SC)

Row 12: CH 1, 2 SC in same stitch, 18 SC in next 18 stitches, 2 SC in same stitch, CH 7 (22 SC, 7 CH)

Row 13: CH 1, SC in second CH from hook (MAKE SURE TO GO THROUGH 2 LOOPS), 5 SC in next 5 CH, 22 SC in next 22 st, CH 7 (28 SC, 7CH)

Row 14: SC in second CH from hook (MAKE SURE TO GO THROUGH 2 LOOPS), 5 SC in next 5 H, 28 SC in next 28 st (34 SC)

Row 15: CH 1, 34 SC in next 34 st (34 SC)

Row 16: CH 1, 6 SC, Slst, Fasten off.

THE BACK OF HOOTY’S FACE
This section is optional BUT I would recommend it if you want Hooty to have a fuller face. Basically it will be a back to Hooty’s face so we can stuff this separately to the body.
USING ANY YARN:

Round 1: MR, 10 HDC into Magic ring, Pull Magic ring closed tight, Slst into first HDC. (10 HDC)

Round 2: CH 2, 2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 2 HDC in each stitch, Slst into first stitch. (20 HDC)

Round 3: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH 1 HDC in next stitch* repeat to the end of the round, Slst into first HDC. (30 HDC)

Round 4: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC in next 2 stitches* repeat to the end of the round, Slst into first HDC (40 HDC)

Round 5: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 3 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (50 HDC)

Round 6: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 4 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (60 HDC)

Round 7: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 5 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (70 HDC)

Round 8: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 6 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (80 HDC)

Round 9: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 7 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (90 HDC)

Round 10: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 8 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (100 HDC)

Round 11: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 9 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (110 HDC)

Round 12: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 10 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (120 HDC)

Round 13: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 11 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (130 HDC)

Round 14: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 12 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (140 HDC)

SEWING THE FACE: 
To sew all the parts on I ended up using black yarn to mimick the art from the show. Make sure you do the little frowny lines for full annoying Hootyness: 

HOOTY’S BODY

HOOTY’S BUTT:
This is the exact same as the front of the face, but this time we will use the body colour to make it. MAKE THIS BEFORE YOUR BODY!!! If you make it after the body you might not have enough yarn to make the butt. 

USING HAWTHORN YARN:

Round 1: MR, 10 HDC into Magic ring, Pull Magic ring closed tight, Slst into first HDC. (10 HDC)

Round 2: CH 2, 2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 2 HDC in each stitch, Slst into first stitch. (20 HDC)

Round 3: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH 1 HDC in next stitch* repeat to the end of the round, Slst into first HDC. (30 HDC)

Round 4: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC in next 2 stitches* repeat to the end of the round, Slst into first HDC (40 HDC)

Round 5: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 3 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (50 HDC)

Round 6: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 4 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (60 HDC)

Round 7: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 5 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (70 HDC)

Round 8: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 6 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (80 HDC)

Round 9: CH 2, *2 HDC into SAME STITCH, 1 HDC into next 7 stitches* repeat to the end of the round Slst into first stitch (90 HDC)

HOOTY’S BODY:

 Now for the long and boring part, making the body (wooo!). It’s basically a very long and narrow blanket so we are going to be working long ways (head to butt). Now if you dont want a super long Hooty these are my measurments for the first ball of yarn I had (283m) It was 51 rows tall and 23cm tall. I will be using 9 balls for my hooty, 8 for the body and 1 so I could sew it all together, so feel free to make him as long or as short as you would like. My final Hooty length was 202 cm long. Aka hes loooong, like 2 metres long.
To do your own size use the base CH and measure out the circumference of your hooty head, remember that the base CH will stretch a bit when continued this will all be based on your own tension, mine is quite tight so feel free to play around a bit. Then just continue with SC and make it as long as you wish . 

USING HAWTHORN YARN:

Row1: CH 125

Row 2: SC 124, CH 1 (124 SC)

Row 3 – 410: SC 124, CH 1, TURN (124 SC)

…Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeah hes a big boi so feel free to make him as long or short as you want to because this took A WHILE. I will say that my hooty ended up being over 2m long and sits at the end of my bed like a sleep paralysis demon.

SEWING:
Now for the easy and very looooooooooooooong process of sewing all 3 pieces together.
The way I sewed it was to sew both the head and the butt onto the body THEN sew the body almost shut, leaving room to stuff it to your liking.
Mine was stuffed enough to be solid BUT I still wanted him to be a snakey boi.

AFTER 2 MONTHS I FINALLY FINISHED MY BOY IN TIME FOR HALLOWEEN (ft Eda the wine aunt):

I am REALLY proud of how he turned out. He is the first real plush I’ve made and he is MASSIVE. He ended up being over 2m long (oops).
I will say that if you do decide to make this then you will be SICK OF CROCHETING ANY KIND OF BROWN/BEIGE, but the outcome is so worth it.
Along with that I ended up writing my first pattern!!! This took me a hot second to write and is the first time I’ve actually had to think about how the fuck to write a pattern.

If you do end up making them tag me in it so you can see! It would be so cool to have a little (Not so little) Hooty army.

2 thoughts on “Oddly Specific Crocheting: Hooty, But Make Him A Crocheted Monster

  1. Hi! I’m planning on using your hooty pattern but I’m pretty new to crocheting. I know it says that you used about 9 balls for the body, but I’m wondering if you have a guesstimate for what the total length of yarn you used for the body? Meters or yards are fine, any measurement would work fine really. Even if it’s just a guess, I’m not sure how long I’m gonna make mine but I’m pretty sure it won’t be as long as yours (I wish but I have a deadline haha) so it would be super helpful for trying to figure out how many skeins I need. If you can’t tell me that’s totally fine and I get it 😊 But thank you so much either way! 💜

    Like

Leave a comment