Film List: #3-Trainspotting

Related image

Oh boy this was a weird one. I loved the setup and how it comes back around to the same monologue as the beginning. It had a pretty simple linear structure with the ongoing conflict of heroin addiction. The colouring was a real standout for me. It being mainly brown, adding bright colours rarely. One of the weirdest moments was definitely when Renton (Ewan McGregor) swam into a toilet. I don’t think I’ve ever watched anything that bizarre before. (Edit: I just rememberd that there is a scene where he goes cold turkey and he sees a baby walking on his roof and the head spins around and its just a lot. yeah no that was more bizarre than the toilet thing)  In the same line as the monologue at the beginning of the film, I really liked the ongoing narration throughout the movie (not just because it was Ewan McGregor, but that did help).
I’ve watched it many times after putting it on that list and I will continue to watch it. It’s an enjoyable film and I would not recommend watching it with your parents. I made that mistake one time and never again.

Leave a comment